Northerner living in Atlanta

2 Dec

I’ve lived up in northern states for most of my life until 2007, when I moved to Atlanta for work.  I was honestly scared to move to the South.  I didn’t know what to expect.  I had a lot of stereotypes about the South based

on what I’ve read over the years, ie the Bible Belt.  The cultural differences I’ve experienced living here are beyond what I could have imagined.  I will be blogging about experiences I’ve had in the South and how it compares to living up North.  It is like a different world down here.  People talk different, people act differently, everything seems so different.  I’ve been down here 4 1/2 years, and I still havn’t gotten used to it.  Perhaps I never will.  But I think it is a cathartic experience for me to write about this to help me work through the issues I’m having.  I think it’s scary for anyone to move to a foreign area.  I had only been to Atlanta once before I moved here in 2007.  Perhaps others who’ve moved down here from up North can relate to the issues I’m having and I can help them as well.

Leave a comment